Surface 3 / Surface 3 Pro / Surface 4 Pro (?)

Come on in and shoot the breeze! This is the place for anything and everything not related to sports or politics. Please take political discussions off-site!
Ghosts
Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer

Surface 3 / Surface 3 Pro / Surface 4 Pro (?)

#1 Post by Ghosts »

As I understand it, there's more than a few computer experts on these here boards.

So I've got a question for you: which of these should I buy?

I'm a lawyer and I have a powerful work desktop. That said, I'd love to have something that runs "real" MS Office, can be used on the road, and also allows me to "mark up" large PDF document files when doing "document review." I'd also like to have something that I can carry, can run OOTP, and also the regular Netflix viewing. Finally, I want something that has the cellular data option if I need it.

I looked at Macs / IPads of all kinds, but it really seems like the Surfaces are the best.

So which should I buy?

Surface 3 -- cheaper, less powerful, kickstand is limited ... but probably does what I need and no fan(!)

Surface 3 Pro -- more expensive (but $100 off currently, if not more ... so it'll be @$200 more than Surface 3), heat issues, but will do everything.

Surface 4 Pro -- coming out in July, maybe. And who the heck knows what it will do. Likely to be the most expensive.

I can get it through work so there's the "expense" tax deduction. Plus my firm will buy it so I'm really only paying for part of that.

Any thoughts?

Any thoughts?
Dan Vail
Bakersfield Bears 2028-2030
Niihama-shi Ghosts 2010, 2031-current
John
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Surface 3 / Surface 3 Pro / Surface 4 Pro (?)

#2 Post by John »

You know, I'd be curious on this, too, and I'm not just limited in interest to Surface - I'd like to know about any and all tablets.