PEBA Winter Meetings (Part one of three)

Coqui
All-Star
All-Star

PEBA Winter Meetings (Part one of three)

#1 Post by Coqui »

PEBA Winter Meetings

USA Today
Benjamin Lincoln

The PEBA Winter Meetings concluded last night with all of the trading profligacy for which the league is known. A trade by trade breakdown, and team grades, follow in this in depth article.

Trade #1: Manchester-San Antonio

San Antonio made its first move at the opening bell of the meetings. In this one, financial burden third baseman Michael Kelly went to Mauler in exchange for an A ball centre fielder and a first and sixth round draft pick.

Analysis: Kelly makes $8.5 million a year but fills a hole at third for the Manchesterians with his 56.9 VORP last year. Mostly a salary dump for San Antonio, the Calzones still managed to net a great pick.

Edge: Slight for San Antonio. It’s not clear that this move is the right one for a Manchester team that finished 72-90 last year.

Trade #2: Tempe-Kentucky

Both of these teams flailed through losing seasons (each 65-97) last year and figured to be movers here at the meetings. Tempe added a closer (Miguel Lozano, also AAA SP Tabito Ishibashi) and Kentucky added one organizational soldier (R. Cunningham) and one decent prospect (Doug Hinkle).

Analysis: This one is befuddling. Tempe added the over $3 million of Lozano and, for the privilege of doing so, traded Doug Hinkle, a pretty good prospect. Tempe did acquire a 32 year old, journeyman, AAA pitcher though, so they have that going for them.

Edge: Kentucky in a landslide. The Thoroughbreds cut salary and added the best prospect in the trade.

Trade #3: Aurora-Omaha

First round picks traded hands here, as well as a LF prospect (Cory Pierce, to Aurora) and an SP prospect (Fernando Madrid, to Omaha).

Analysis: Not a lot to analyze here. Pretty good prospects go both ways, both to fit an organizational need. Omaha may see a quicker return on investment, but both players should develop well.