Hello!

Pineapple

Hello!

#1 Post by Pineapple »

Hello there PEBA. I'm just dropping in to wish everyone a good Labor day. I'm a hopeful GM, manager, owner or whatever you want to call it. So I'll be content to be on the waiting list until a spot opens up.

I'm 27 and my favorite baseball team is the A's. So my memories as a kid included the Bash Brothers, Stew's stare, Eck's moustache, and Ricky stealing third base.

I've been reading the forums a bit just to get a feel of PEBA and all. It seem there is eclectic group here who are interested in making PEBA a fun place for all.

From what I gathered, PEBA is using OOTP8 and plans to make the jump to OOTP9. I'm pretty new to OOTP in itself so my first experiences are primary with OOTP9. So I am just curious on your thoughts on OOTP9 vs. OOTP8.

I do have some experience in some OOTP9 leagues so I find it interesting the learning process/curve from making the jump. I think the 3 biggest areas in the jump would probably be scouting, injury frequency, and financial.

In one of my leagues, K-Rod of the Angels resigned for 3.9 million per season over 4 years. His previous contract was at 10 million.

As for injury frequency, average probably does give the most realistic frequency of injuries. Unfortunately rather than skewing it towards minor day-to-day injuries or nagging injuries, there is a lot of long term injury. My league have seen about 6 season enders and several career enders during spring training including the minor leagues.

Anyway just saying hello. Sorry for the long winded introductory, I figured it would be good practice since this league promotes writing :)
John
Site Admin
Site Admin

#2 Post by John »